Photograph of the year 2017

At the end of another year of great challenges and superb photographs, Fermoy Camera Club finished off the year with the 2017 Awards Night last week.  A large number of members assembled to see who would be the winner of the Jim Bartley Photographer of the Year Cup and the various grade winners. Kelly & her team had (deliberately) not published the recent POTY tables, so the suspense was high right to the last moment.


The well deserving overall winner was Tom Quish from Hospital, Co. Limerick who has been a member of the club for only a short few years. Tom’s talents have really shone true the various images that he has shared with us during the year.  His interpretation of themes is always interesting and the execution of his ideas superb.  “How did you do that Tom ?” is a question he is regularly asked.  Well done Tom - keep snapping and looking forward to seeing your images in 2018. 2nd place overall for FCC Photographer of the Year was Ger Dorgan from Bartlemy, 3rd Place was Noreen Lucey from Mogeely and 4th Sinead Hickey, Castlelyons.. Best New Member was Dale Thomas from Conna.


Other winners on the night:  Grade 1; Tom Quish (1st), Ger Dorgan (2nd), Monica O’Brien (3rd). Grade 2; Lorna O’Dwyer (1st), Michael Walsh (2nd), Ruth Howard (3rd). Grade 3; Donagh Cronin (1st), Louise Howard (2nd), Louise Daly (3rd).


Hugh thanks to Kelly Condon and the two Louise’s , our hardworking competitions team for 2017 - now it’s over to George O’Keeffe our competition secretary for 2018   We were honoured to have our President Jim Bartley in attendance on the night. Thanks Jim for sponsoring the wonderful Cup and your kind encouraging words.


Following the usual cup of tea, a wonderful side show of photos from some of our outings during the year was shown, accompanied by ‘suitable’ audio tracks. Many thanks George. The fun-filled evening continued in a local hostelry where music was provided by Noel O’Keeffe and the sing song led by our hard working chairperson Una Finn. Happy Christmas to all members and looking forward to more fun with photography in 2018.